Millennium Project Planning Committee Meeting

July 21-22, 2016, Washington, DC, usa

Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

The Millennium Project Planning Committee meetings are restricted just for the Planning Committee members of the Millennium Project and special invitees.



Report from the Nodes

For the NATO Advanced Research Workshop: Identification of Potential Terrorists and Adversary Planning — Emerging Technologies and New Counter-Terror Strategies, July 25-27, 2016 , see

  1. Alamo, Julissa, Peru Node Member
  2. Antinori, Arije, Geopolitics and OSINT Analyst, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy Node Representative
  3. Bai, Ying, Vice President, Beijing Academy of Soft Technology, China Node Member
  4. Cordeiro, Jose, President, Sociedad Mundial del Futuro Venezuela, Caracas, Node Chair
  5. Destatte, Philippe, The Destree Institute, Namur (Wallonia), Brussels-Area Node Chair
  6. Donaldson, Nancy, ILO/Washington Director, Washington DC, USA
  7. Ezzine, Jelel, President of the Tunisian Association for the Advancement of Science, Technology and Innovation (TAASTI), Tunisia Node Chair
  8. Florescu, Elizabeth, Director of Research, The Millennium Project, Calgary, Canada
  9. Garrido Luzardo, Lydia, Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales, Montevideo, Uruguay Node Chair
  10. Glenn, Jerome, Executive Director, The Millennium Project, Washington DC, USA
  11. Gomez-Sanchez, Ruben, Peru Node Member
  12. Gordon, Ted, Senior Fellow, The Millennium Project, Old Lyme, CT, USA
  13. Heinonen, Sirkka, Professor, University of Turku, Finland Futures Research Centre (FFRC), Helsinki, Finland Node Chair
  14. Luis Eduardo Hernandez, Member of the Venezuela Node
  15. Hinzmann, Brock, Business Futures Network, Los Altos Hills CA, USA, Silicon Valley Node Chair
  16. Huseynova, Reyhan, President, Azerbaijan Future Studies Society, Baku Azerbaijan Node Chair
  17. Ibarreche, Juan, Guaranteed Income Director, Lanbide/Basque Government, Spain
  18. Jin, Zhouying, Director, Center of Technology Innovation & Strategy Studies, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, China Node Chair
  19. Kim, Tony, Director, Future Design Lab, Korea Node Member
  20. Laurén, Leena-Maija, Finland Futures Research Centre, Finland Node Member
  21. Lomparte, Jeannette, Peru Node Member
  22. Maric, Milan, Director of S&T Montenegro Podgorica, Montenegro Node Co-Chair
  23. Olavarrieta, Concepción, Nodo Mexicano, El Proyecto Del Milenio, Mexico Node Chair
  24. Ortega, Fernando, Peruvian Association of Prospective and Future Studies Lima, Peru, Node Chair
  25. Pop, Adrian, Professor, National University of Political Science and Public Administration, Director, Centre for Regional and Global Studies, Bucharest, Romania Node Chair
  26. Sagardui, Miren Gotzone, Active Labour Market Director, Lanbide/Basque Government, Spain
  27. Sharan, Yair, Director, TAM-C/FIRST group, Jerusalem, Israel, Node Co-Chair
  28. Talwar, Rohit, Fast Future, UK, Node Member
  29. Tarhan, Ufuk, President M-Gen Digital Agency, Turkey Node Chair
  30. Umpleby, Stuart A., Dept. of Management, George Washington University, USA (inkind support with MP listserves)
  31. Wilson, Jean Gaddy, Position the Future, Alexandria, VA, USA
  32. Zhao, Zheng, Deputy Director, Asia-Pacific Green Development Center, Green Economic Research Institute, China Node Member
  33. Zugasti, Ibon, Prospektiker, S.A., Donostia-San Sebastian, Spain, Node Chair



Thursday, July 21, 2016

9:00 Introductions and Review Agenda

9:45 Recent Accomplishments

10:15 Current and Recent Activities

Global Work/Tech 250 Scenarios
ILO/Washington collaboration
Pre-Detection of Terrorists study and NATO AR Workshop
Global Futures Intelligence System (GFIS)
Azerbaijan State Economic University Futures tele-course
National Collective Information System for Egypt

11:00 Break
11:20 Current and Recent Activities (continued)

RIBER meeting and updates
European Foresight updates
Basque Regional Work/Tech study and Guaranteed Income Model
Other activities

1:00 Lunch

2:00 Node Chairs Reports

3:30 Break

3:45 Continue Node Chairs Reports

5:00 Adjourn

7:00 - 9:00 Reception hosted by The Embassy of Chile in Washington, DC


Friday July 22, 2016

   9:00 Node Chairs’ Reports (continued)

10:30 MPPC RTD results, priorities, Long-range vision

11:00 Break

11:15 Succession planning

12:30 Identify Small Discussion Groups

12:45 Lunch

  1:30 Group Discussions

  3:15 Break

  3:30 Group Discussion Recommendations

  4:30 Fundraising and other administrative matters

5:15 Final comments by all

5:30 MPPC Meeting Adjourn

REPORTS FROM THE NODES CHAIRS (posting to be completed as presentations are received from attendees)

The Nodes Chairs focus on some recent work of their own research, the role of their Node in their countries/regions, and future steps.

Argentia, Miguel Guttierz, Node Chair
Australasia, Anita Sykes-Kelleher, Node Chair
Azerbaijan, Rehyan Huseynova, Node Co-Chair
Brazil, Rosa Alegria & Arnoldo de Hoyos, Node Co-Chairs
Brussels-Area, Philippe Destatte, Node Chair
China, Zhouying Jin, Node Chair
Egypt, Kamal Mahmood, Node Chair
Finland, Sirkka Heinonen, Node Chair
Germany, Cornelia Daheim, Node Chair
Israel, Yair Sharan, Node Co-Chair
Italy, Antinori, Arije, Node Representative
Italy, Mara-Di-Berardo, Report on the Work/Tech workshop
Mexico, Concepcion Olavarrieta, Node Chair
Montenegro, Milan Maric, Node Chair
Peru, Fernando Ortega, Node Chair
Romania, Adrian Pop, Node Chair
Silicon Valley, Brock Hinzmann, Node Chair
Spain, Ibon Zugasti, Node Chair
Tunisia, Jelel Ezzine, Node Chair
UK, Rohit Talwar, Node Member
Uruguay, Lydia Garrido Luzardo, Node Chair
Venezuela, Jose Cordeiro, Node Chair